Avatar on Blu Ray Review


Ok, so I first saw this movie in the theater. It’s one of those movies that you just should’ve seen. If you didn’t, and its still in a theater where you live- go see it! It’s a visual spectacle that you really want to behold. And the movie was made that way on purpose. That said, I still hold that a movie is primarily about storytelling. And regardless, the form an art takes shouldn’t overpower the art itself.

In my first review of the movie, I lashed out that director James Cameron sacrificed too much story for the sake of the form of the art. That he put the form of his art (the dazzling visual effects, the wide variety of filming techniques, and crystal clear clarity of picture) over the art of storytelling (character development, moving plot lines, and an emotional investment in the outcome of the story).

Upon a second viewing, this time from the comfort of my living with people I love a lot AND on my spiffy new Blu Ray player, I think I have to retract the former arguments. This is still a visually captivating movie, with characters that you can feel for and relate to. I think I even saw a tear or two from one of the people I was watching with. I found myself getting lost in the sweeping scenic shots and wasn’t taken aback by their length- it felt just right.

I would highly recommend, if at all possible, watch this movie on Blu Ray on a tv capable of showing the incredible high definition. It’s absolutely worth it.

There were still some drawn out portions, 2 climaxes too many, and a storyline that was quite predictable. It truly is a story we have seen before. Mankind is the bad guy in a war against nature. Its our greed and desire for conquest that dooms us. But there is hope if we can just connect to nature. A friend of mine commented that it was like a hi-tech version of Ferngully. I thought more of Pocahontas. Lest we forget, this was even the baseline of the Lord of te Rongs story.

Then there’s the familiar storyline of a romantic comedy- yeah, a romantic comedy. You know, mismatched guy and girl get together, but the guy is there for the wrong reasons. However, over the course of the movie, he really falls in love with her, and just as that happens, she finds out he’s been lying the entire time, and he has to do something huge to win her back. I wont even begin a list of movies where we’ve seen this motif- the difference here is that there was no comedy. But I guess there’s something to be said for these storylines. We must really like them because they keep making movies and writing stories about them.

All in all, I really liked it the second go ’round. Definitely something to see. And see it on Blu Ray. And use the bathroom first- it’s long.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

