Movie Review :: The Blind Side – Not a “Christian” Movie


I have to say: generally, I have an aversion to “christian” movies.  Sure, a lot of times they’re good, but truthfully, they’ve never been great.  So when I heard about The Blind Side, I didn’t go see it, despite Sandra Bullock leading the cast.  After all, I had never heard of this film before.  I’d never seen a preview.  How good could it really be?  All I knew is that a bunch of girls from church started blowing up Twitter and Facebook one weekend saying how much they loved the film.  I rolled my eyes and passed it off.  I mean, I had already seen Facing the Giants, a football movie put out by a church; and it was well done, but still fell way short in terms of talent and writing.

Then one night a bunch of friends, church friends no less, were going to see it at the dollar theater.  So I tagged along.  And what I was treated to was anything but a “Christian” movie.  In fact, this wasn’t even a football movie.  It wasn’t another rendition of Remember the Titans.  It was something else all together.  I was blind-sided by how good this movie actually was.

It’s the story of a forgotten and written off teenager who had his world turned upside down all because one family decided to take him in.  It’s the kind of story that you always hope to hear.  For as often as someone may have told you that one person can make a big difference, this is that story in action.  And what makes it better- this is a true story.

Honestly, I’m not sure if the family in this film were Christians, but I wouldn’t have trouble believing for a minute that they were; and it didn’t really matter.  Christian or not, they did a great thing by not only taking this boy in, they loved him, in effect healed him, and set him on a path to become the person he was created to be – an NFL First Round Draft Pick.

If I had to be critical, the acting at times did seem forced, especially from Quinton Aaron, who played Michael Oher; but it barely detracted from what was clearly a well written and well told story.  What I think I liked most about this movie is that there was a noticable lack of unrealistic changes in the characters.  There weren’t huge jumps in the way the characters thought or acted.  Their growth through out the film seemed natural. We follow Michael’s journey, and it wasn’t completely smooth.  He certainly had his demons he had to face a long the way.  And things weren’t always smooth with his new family, either.  But they all manage to work through it, become a family, and we find ourselves cheering for them the entire way.  So much so that when Michael is sitting in an NCAA inquiry, we, the audience, feel the punch in the stomach.  A car accident has us frantic on the edge of our seats as we wait to see who’s ok and what damage has been done.

Simply put- this is a movie where you actually feel for the characters and invest yourself in your their story.  I completely understand why the filmmakers heavily marketed to the Christian community, because they understood something :: Christians want the same thing non-Christians do- Not another “christian” movie, but a movie where faith and values and love are brought to life on the screen and a difference is made.  At least that’s what the $200 million that the movie has grossed would suggest.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

