A Man’s Take on a Women’s Retreat


So, I’ve spent the last few days at Quest’s Women’s Retreat :: Breathe.  Let me reiterate I’ve been AT the retreat, not ON the retreat.  And while I’m sworn to secrecy on most what I’ve seen and heard here, a few really key thoughts are rollin’ around the ol’ noggin.

1) I’m so glad I’m not a girl.

2) There are a lot of ladies who wouldn’t give church a chance, but they would come to a retreat for women- for those ladies, it’s their one chance to hear about Jesus.

3) I love being a sound guy, and I know I’ve got a lot to learn, but I’m also surprised at how much I’ve learned.

4) I wonder, what could be different between my wife and I if she really could just believe that I am absolutely floored by her beauty.

Don’t get me wrong, we have a good relationship and we’re loving married life.  But I wonder what could be different.

This weekend, the ladies are taking a hard look at the fact that Jesus sees them as so beautiful.  They’re getting to take a look at what keeps them from believing that and what could get unlocked if they just knew that.  If they could just live in the truth that to Jesus, they are stunningly gorgeous, what could be different?  I know the answer :: in a word- Everything!  They could walk taller, speak louder, be stronger, dance longer, and breathe easier.

So it got me thinking: since the marriage relationship is supposed to be an image of the individual’s relationship with Christ- what if Penny could really just believe and know and live in the truth that to me– she truly is stunningly gorgeous.  Even as I sit here and write this- I well up with tears at the thought of it.

Because she is- she’s not just beautiful, she is smoking hot.  And you know what, I’ve seen the imperfections.  I know where they are.  I know what look like.  I’m very much aware.  Honestly, those things almost make her more beautiful to me.

I don’t understand why when I tell her how beautiful she is, she shrugs it off and says that she thinks I’m crazy.  But she’s just that stunning to me.  I look at her and I melt.  I think of her and I lose it.  I walk around with my chin on the ground, saying – that’s my wife!  No seriously, that one right there, guys, that’s my wife-  the prettiest one.

This weekend- Penny- hear it from Jesus just how beautiful you are- and please, hear it from me too.  Cause if he thinks you’re half as beautiful as I do- he’s going Ga-ga.  And here’s the thing- the truth is what I think of you is only a fraction of what he thinks of you.   Soak it in.

    • Kim Agee
    • May 7th, 2010

    I know you mean what you say, and I gotta say – she was the most radiant bride I have ever seen! It’s hard for girls, you know – the bad stuff is just easier to believe. You’re awesome to want her to be so lifted – meanwhile, I suspect she is just AWESOME.

    • elizabeth
    • May 12th, 2010

    of all things, a couple years ago Jesus used a memory of an interaction with an old boyfriend to tell me how he thought about my beauty. he can’t get over how beautiful i am. It doesn’t totally solve the little insecurity of wondering if real live men are (or only one someday will be) affected by me like this, but- at least at my core- I’m totally sold on the notion that I am stunning.

    happy women’s retreat, Brent!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

