Restaurant Review :: Asuka’s Tappanyaki Grill and Sushi


They call it a Tappanyaki grill- to me, it’s a good ol’ Hibachi grill.  Which typcially means a good time, good food, and an amazingly big bill.  And if that’s what you’re looking for, Asuka’s is sure to not disappoint.

Penny and I took my mom and dad out for Mother’s Day, and it really was a lot of fun.  For anyone who’s never been to a hibachi grill before, you are seated around the grill, you pick what you want, then the Japanese chef comes to you and cooks the food.  For the better chefs, it’s not just a guy cooking your food, but its a show as well.  They interact with you enough to keep you entertained, but they are also polite enough to let you continue your conversation.

For anyone who likes to toss their food into the air and try to catch it in their mouths, there is a tradition where the chef will flip a piece of food into the mouth of everyone around the table.  No worries if you miss it, most people do, and you usually get at least a second chance.  I was treated to a special shot of Saki, Japanese rice vodka, where the chef took a good 60 seconds of spraying the Saki into my mouth without giving me a chance to swallow.

The food was good, but I can’t say this was the best place I’ve ever been.  However, while  I didn’t try it myself, I’m told that the sushi is incredible.  Flavorful and fresh are two words that I hear coming up time and time again.

If you’re on a budget, this one might be something you wanna save up for.  For the 4 of us, after tip, it cost around $150, so be prepared for that.  Is it worth it?  I’d say yeah, but it’s definitely only something I could do once or twice a year, maybe less.

    • Dustin Roberts
    • May 16th, 2010

    I think I would have to disagree with the reviews you’ve heard about the sushi. Stacy and I are not a huge fan of the sushi from there. After going a few times, we’ve found that most of their sushi tastes the same, and most of it is pretty bland.

    If you want a really good sushi spot, try Tokyo Sushi off of Richmond Rd. Since moving here from California, Tokyo Sushi has been the best sushi place we’ve found.

  1. I’m actually not a huge sushi fan- which is why I didn’t try it. The people next to me were eathing it and loving it and I saw a couple other reviews that liked it. We’ll chalk yours up in the no-good colomn. 🙂

    • DBlizz_Yall
    • May 17th, 2010

    I dig it. I started going when they first opened and they were running the basic Hibachi meal for $9.99. After getting me hooked of course they ended the promotion and raised the price. As far as Hibachi joints in Lex go i’d say it was my favorite, based on what you get (food quality, atmosphere, chef skill/entertainment), the chef personality factor plays heavy in my opinion over others. If you just get a basic chicken or steak Tappanyaki meal it’s not a heavy wallet buster, and I quite like their sishi menu and have enjoyed every item I’ve tried. On Wed. they have a nice Sushi discount, like two bucks off or something. However, they can try to put you down with the Saki fountains.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

