4 Real Political Issues Every Couple Must Vote On


It’s the first Tuesday in November.  That means it’s election day.  And as I am about to head off to the polls to perform my civic duty, I can’t help but wonder if my wife will be able to make it to the polls after work.  And as I picture her standing there at the booth, punching in her vote on those oh-so-reliable machines, two thoughts occur to me : 1) I wonder when the machines will get smart enough to actually scrap our votes and vote a machine into office- I’m telling you- that’s how they will take over.  2) I have no clue as to who my wife will vote for…and I’m really ok with that.

Politics is not something that Penny and I ever really discuss.  It’s not something that matters enough to either of us to spend our few precious moments together discussing.  We have, however, spent a little time discussing how it’s not important enough to spend time discussing it.  Discussing.

Simply put, politics is not something unites or divides us.  It’s mute issue.  But it makes me wonder… should we be talking about it at least some?  I mean, I couldn’t tell you what political party she lines up with.  I have a good guess, but I don’t know for sure.  I think I’ve told her in passing where I line up, but I couldn’t swear to that either.  Should I know what my wife thinks politically?  Should I even care if she doesn’t think like I do politically speaking?   Either way, I guarantee you that tonight when we go to bed, we won’t be talking about this election or who we think should or shouldn’t have won.

No, I don’t think I should know more about her political standings and I don’t particularly care to either.  If it was important to me that we line up politically, then it would have been something we talked about when we were dating, before we got married.   But I’m satisfied with the idea that my guess is that we line up more than we don’t.  And if I’m wrong- who cares?

Politics just don’t have a place in our relationship.  It’s not what we’re about.  We’re not going to quibble over those issues.

But I do think this raises a great question…what are the issues we should be concerned with? what are the real issues that we need to be sure that we line up on.  I’ve narrowed it down to 4 basic Issues that are the real issues couples have to contend with.  These are issues that you MUST be in alignment on for your relationship to work.  And if you’re thinking about moving your dating relationship to the next level, think of this like a good check list.  Here we go:

1) The Issue of Faith.  It is paramount that you as a couple agree on at the least the basic tenants of faith.  Since what you believe or don’t believe about God is really at the core of who you are, it certainly is something to be talked about.  (Notice I’m not talking about the finer points of theology.  I think its way less of an issue to agree on Calvinism vs Arminianism than it is to agree on whether or not Jesus’ death on a cross has atoned for sins – or – was it all a charade?  Or perhaps There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.)  Whatever your faith- your partner better be in at least basic agreement with you on that

2) The Issue of Love. Do you agree that you love each other?  A man smarter than me once said that love is choosing to put the wants, needs, and desires of another individual above your own. Basically its serving one another.  So are you going to love each other.  One of things I’ve learned in the few short months that I’ve been married is that it works best when Penny and I are each serving each other without requiring that the other one serves us back.  It’s hard in a relationship to be the one constantly serving and never being served, so it’s important that you agree that you will serve each other.  However, I know my own selfishness comes into the equation more often than I would like and that’s when things start getting rocky.

3) The Issue of Longevity Are you in it to win it?  More than that, are you in it till the end?  Let’s face it, craps comes up.  You will both make stupid choices.  Are you going to own up to it when its you?  Are you going to forgive when it’s not you?  Is your commitment to sticking it out more than your fleeting urge to run?  When things get rocky and you uncover the full extent of the brokenness of your partner, will you lean into your marriage or pull away from it?  Are you in it for the long haul?  Does your spouse know that?  I challenge you… make it a point to remind your spouse today, no matter what, you’re in it till the end.

4) The Issue of Unification Are you going to be one with each other?  Are you so committed that you will agree to work on the places that you disagree on to come to a unified conclusion?  I like what Matthew Henry said in his commentary about Adam and Eve – That the woman was made of a rib out of the side of Adam; not made out of his head to rule over him, nor out of his feet to be trampled upon by him, but out of his side to be equal with him, under his arm to be protected, and near his heart to be beloved. It’s a beautiful statement.  Whether you believe this account or not the idea is true, man and woman, husband and wife are one… side by side, walking together.  Do what it takes to be unified with your spouse.  And if you’re dating, you should know that there is not a single person on this earth that you will be completely unified with 100% of the time.  The question is :: who is the person that you want to work through those issues with.

Those, my friends, are the real issues to be voted upon, not whether or not we want local control over the water company.  And if you’re dating, those are the real issues that you want to work through before deciding to move to the next step.

How about you?  What about in your relationship?  Do politics play a role?  Are they an issue?  What do you think are the real issues that couples have to contend with.  Leave a comment and let us know.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

