Thinking about Moving In? Read this First.


Recently, I’ve have several interactions with readers of this blog where they have been talking about moving in together.  While no one will get any kind of judgement from me and this blog.  What you choose to do is your business.  But for anyone considering it- I would whole heartedly beg them to reconsider until there’s been 2 rings and an I Do in between.  This has nothing to do with religion or moral values.  It’s simply that I have seen this happen many many times and almost every time it ends in heartache.  In fact, only once have I ever known a couple that lived together before marriage stay together.  Just once.  And I’ve known A LOT of couples who have done this.

I think it really has to do with the fact that both people are now acting and living in a state of commitment that neither person has really taken the step to commit to.  And what that does is place unspoken expectations on each other, and generally speaking, if everyone were being perfectly honest- this is just a mechanism for protecting your heart from getting hurt- which is the EXACT OPPOSITE of what you want to be doing in a relationship. So my advice- Don’t Do It!

To that end, I found this neat infographic from www.BusinessInsider.com  I thought I’d share.  Enjoy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

